From the desk of Penrose

October 6, 2009

zork, buried chaos

Filed under: Uncategorized — gpenrose @ 12:30 pm

How many lines do I need to write to avoid spoiling this game for casual readers?

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

spoilers

This game is one of several which, according to the blurbs, involves being trapped in a cave. Plato wrote about being trapped in a cave. Everything written since then has been derivative. This game is highly derivative of the Infocom “Zork” series, right down to the title, and the sword. But whereas “Zork” implemented a description of that sword (an Elvish sword of great antiquity) this story does not. This game also fails several of my other longstanding tests of interactive fiction.

The “examine me” test. This game gives a default response.
The “missing credits” test. This game appears to have none.
The “find a misspelled word in the first two rooms” test. I’m not a stickler for spelling and punctuation. I don’t care if a period comes inside the quotation mark or outside. But goodness, shouldn’t the direction label “south” be spelled correctly?

Time passes.
OK. I’ve visited five or six rooms. I’ve found a wire, a sword, a lamp, a crate and a map (which I can’t use). I’ve found a slide blocked by an obstruction (which I’m not able to examine). I’ve found a locked chest, and a door and a dial. I’ve found sparse room descriptions which make me feel like my computer is still limited to 64K of memory. The blue room has a glass wall, which hasn’t been implemented. The game has a maze, without any room descriptions.

OK. I quit. The walk-thru makes it look like I may have missed some things. I give it a “2” out of 5.

1 Comment »

  1. “Plato wrote about being trapped in a cave. Everything written since then has been derivative.”

    That is some wise shit, right there.

    Comment by newlin — October 8, 2009 @ 12:48 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

